In order to help troubleshoot email delivery issues, the technical support staff may ask to see the full headers of a message. To get the message headers, simply follow the instructions for your email program below.
SmarterMail
- Double-click the email message.
- In the bottom right corner of the message window, click the "Header" tab.
- Select the text in the "Message" box. Right-click and select "Copy".
- Click "Close" in the menu bar at the top of the message.
- Paste the headers into your message to Support.
Outlook 2010 and later
- Double-click the e-mail message and select the File tab.
- Click the Properties box on the bottom right.
- Right-click in the "Internet Headers" box and pull down to Select All.
- Right-click again and select Copy.
- Click the Close button to return to your message.
- Paste the headers into your message to Support.
Outlook 2007
- Right-click the email message (in the messages list) and select "Message Options..."
- Right-click in the "Internet Headers" box and pull down to Select All.
- Right-click again and select Copy.
- Click the Close button to return to your message.
- Paste the headers into your message to Support.
Outlook 2003
- Open the message by double-clicking on it.
- In the message window, choose Options under the View menu, where you will see the headers.
- Copy the headers and paste them into your message to Support.
Thunderbird
- Click on the email message to view it.
- Click on the View pull-down menu and select "Message Source".
- A new window will appear displaying the full unformatted message.
- Click and drag the cursor in the headers to select the text.
- Copy the selected text and paste it into your message to Support.
Mac Mail
- Open the email message.
- In Tiger Mac Mail, go to the View menu and select "Show All Headers". In Leopard Mac Mail, select "Raw Source" under Message.
- Cut and paste the full headers into your message to Support.
Article ID: 1107, Created: 1/16/2013 at 5:30 PM, Modified: 12/19/2018 at 4:17 PM